It is not always about you!

Standard

Gift:  Thanks for the gift of fear of the Lord, so that I may be filled with a loving reverence towards God and may dread in any way to displease Him.

Reading:  There is no remembrance of past generations;g nor will future generations be remembered by those who come after them.  (Ecclesiastes 1:11)

Observation:  Quite simply, as I heard the first reading read at Mass this morning, I was wondering if God was telling me that nothing I do will ever be remembered.  Unlike Saint Vincent de Paul, who we remembered today and I asked to pray for us, we cannot be remembered.  The truth is the end of this reading was not talking about the efforts that we make in following Jesus, it is talking about all those ways that we want to be remembered because of our efforts outside of the kingdom of God.  If our life is focused on God’s will for us, God will be able to use us beyond our death to remind everyone what is possible if you surrender your will to His.

Personification:  Joy  All of the readings this morning were leading me to feel like I am not worthy of God’s grace.  The fact is that I am not, and I am overjoyed at the fact that He chooses to give it to me anyway.  The joy that I hope to show today comes from His gift of grace from the Sacraments and not from me.  If this sounds crazy, good, because it makes me feel crazy.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen.

Leave a Reply

