Is the cross foolishness to you?

Standard
His cross...My cross?

His cross…My cross?

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  To those who are on the way to destruction, the message of the cross is foolishness; – but we who are on the way to salvation see it as the proof of God’s power.  (1 Corinthians 1:18,23)

Observation:  The reading is a paraphrased version of the two verses above that is taken from the Office of Readings for today.  It is Thursday of the 4th week in Ordinary time.  I mention that because it struck me first this morning that we were already in the 4th week of ordinary time, and only a week away from the beginning of Lent.  I hope that I can see the cross as a reminder of what Jesus did for me and as a call to suffer whatever discomfort God wills for me to suffer in union with His sacrifice.

Personification:  Kindness. It is my hope hat I can display the fruit of kindness today.  My son, DJ, selected the fruit that I should focus on today and I hope that the rest of my kids, and DJ will able to see me acting with the fruit of kindness, even if I have to reprove them for some bad behavior.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display kindness to my wife and children today and see every day with them as a gift from you…I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!!!

Leave a Reply

