Write down, therefore, what you have seen, and what is happening, and what will happen afterwards. (Rev 1:19)

Standard
image

Death has lost it's sting!

Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  You are walking now by faith, still on pilgrimage in a mortal body away from the Lord; but he to whom your steps are directed is himself the sure and certain way for you: Jesus Christ, who for our sake became man. For all who fear him he has stored up abundant happiness, which he will reveal to those who hope in him, bringing it to completion when we have attained the reality which even now we possess in hope.

This is the octave day of your new birth. Today is fulfilled in you the sign of faith that was prefigured in the Old Testament by the circumcision of the flesh on the eighth day after birth. When the Lord rose from the dead, he put off the mortality of the flesh; his risen body was still the same body, but it was no longer subject to death. By his resurrection he consecrated Sunday, or the Lord’s day. Though the third after his passion, this day is the eighth after the Sabbath, and thus also the first day of the week.

And so your own hope of resurrection, though not yet realized, is sure and certain, because you have received the sacrament or sign of this reality, and have been given the pledge of the Spirit.  (Second reading from today’s Office of Readings from a Sermon by Saint Augustine, bishop)

Observation:  For me, today is the first day of living in the Spirit and no longer being controlled by the flesh.  Why can I make such a bold claim, because my flesh has been transformed by my relationship to Jesus through my Baptism, who died and was resurrected to transform me into a new creation.   My flesh will need to be renewed again, by the reception of the other Sacraments that sustain me in this world, but today is the first day in a long time that I can say that I know that Jesus is the Way, and the Truth and the Life, and it is by His grace that I am healed. 

Personification:  Faithfulness. It is the fruit of faithfulness that I want to display today and everyday for the rest of my life.  As I looked at the list of the Fruits of the Holy Spirit on my journaling page, I thought faithfulness looked and sounded the most like thankfulness.  I believe that I can display the fruit of faithfulness, by giving thanks and praise to God who is responsible for everything good in my life.

Prayer:  Glory and praise to our God, who alone gives light to our days…Many are the blessings he bears to those who trust in His ways…Lord Jesus Christ, thank you for gracing us with your presence in our church and in all the churches around the world today…Amen!

2 thoughts on “Write down, therefore, what you have seen, and what is happening, and what will happen afterwards. (Rev 1:19)

    • Thank you for sharing my post…I am humbled by your use of my post on your blog…May God continue to richly bless you in all things on this Tuesday in the Lord…Amen!

Leave a Reply

