Do we still act like Jacob, or are we trying to answer the call to act like Jesus?

Standard

 

The Reconciliation of Jacob and Esau, as in Ge...

The Reconciliation of Jacob and Esau, as in Genesis 33, oil on panel, at the National Galleries of Scotland (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

 

Reading:  Jacob then made this vow:* “If God will be with me and protect me on this journey I am making and give me food to eat and clothes to wear, and I come back safely to my father’s house, the LORD will be my God. This stone that I have set up as a sacred pillar will be the house of God. Of everything you give me, I will return a tenth part to you without fail.”  (Genesis 28:20-22)

 

&

 

When Jesus arrived at the official’s house and saw the flute players and the crowd who were making a commotion, he said, “Go away! The girl is not dead but sleeping.”* And they ridiculed him. (Matthew 9:23-24)

 

Observation:  As I read the readings this morning, I was moved by the fact that Jacob was willing to make a vow to God only if he would keep him safe.  I thought about how much I am like that, and how Jesus and the evidence of thousands of years of history of God’s chosen people tell us that we should trust God first and wait on his promises.  We know that God’s promises have been fulfilled for his chosen people for so long, we should not question whether or not it will happen, although we may wonder when it will happen.  However, I couldn’t help hear the gospel message telling me to form the message for the crowd that is the world, with it’s “flute players”, that is the people that are ready to signal the end of the world.  The message is something like, “Go to work proclaiming the good news.  God is not dead, he is waiting for you to repent and be converted.”

 

Personification:  Love.  I am hoping that I can display the fruit of love today, but giving myself completely to the work that God wills that I get done.  Of course, this includes the work of being present for my family since it is my day off, but not getting too overly irritated if I am called in to take care of anything at the church today.

 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to find the way that you are calling me to walk today and the things that you need me to say and the times that you would prefer that I just be quiet and wait for you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

