Our Lady of Guadalupe, pray for us!

Standard

Isaiah 7:14b-15

The virgin shall be with child, and bear a son, and shall name him Immanuel. He shall be living on curds and honey by the time he learns to reject the bad and choose the good.

This is from the Morning prayer of the Liturgy of the Hours this morning.  As it was read this morning, I felt like it was important but I think I was thinking of the reading in reference to John the Baptist, rather than Jesus.  However, now that I read it through again, I understand that the prophet that wrote this book of prophecy might not have completely understood the implications of the incarnational nature of who Jesus would be.  This begs the question to me, how do I look back on the incarnation, as someone who lives 2000 years after the birth of Jesus, and not understand the incarnational nature of who Jesus is?  I am struck today with the fact that Jesus is not only calling me to be a symbol of who he was on earth, but really be Him in the world today.  This is what the incarnational nature of who Jesus is, and if I understood this fully, I would never choose evil and only ever choose good.  Unfortunately, I sometimes forget and fall.  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.

Leave a Reply

