April Fool’s Day!

Standard
Thanks be to God for this beautiful sunrise!

Thanks be to God for this beautiful sunrise!

So, today is the day that our culture celebrates stupidity. For me, that usually means that I fall victim to any number of pranks pulled by the closet tricksters that come out of the closet on this holy day of obligation for those who are entertained by such things. Truth be told, I am not above pulling a good prank on someone, but I refuse to believe that we need a day to remember to do this on. I thought about making the title of this post, “Why I am leaving the Catholic Church?” I realized quickly that I would have to let on to the joke fast, so that those that knew me would not lose hope because of my apparent lack of faith.

I would to offer an alternate view of April 1st. Let’s call it a day of hope. As we continue through this season of Lent, the time of our preparation for the celebration of the Resurrection of Jesus, we could take today as a reminder that the race of life is over too quickly on earth, so let’s look around at all that God created and see that it is very good and He is worthy of our praise.  Let us be hopeful that God is creating every thing new in us and for us in the New Jerusalem.

Leave a Reply

