If you see my dad, take him to church to see my Father!

Standard

I had a conversation with some parishioners yesterday about how the Baptist church has so much better music than our church does, and that is why so many people are leaving the Catholic church and going over there to worship.  It happened while I was showing them my post from yesterday, because I wanted them to see the music that came to me yesterday as I was writing my blog.  It is funny how I don’t remember a time that I was writing and a really good chant or liturgical piece came to my mind to share.  I think the point is, that this blog is not for me, it is for the people that may one day read it, and for that reason I am led to share the music that God thinks will move others.

For me, I must remember that even though I do not think that we should see the Mass as a performance that needs to cater to the needs of those that need to be entertained, it is incumbent on me to make sure that the worship space is a place of transcendence.  The liturgy is not meant to be a performance piece that appeals to the masses, excuse the pun, but a living part of the revelation of Jesus.  What I mean is, the Mass is an extension of Jesus that should transform us, and it can do that through the grace of God in any space.  However, if the space we worship can transport the people who worship there to another place, it may be easier for them to give up their will in favor of letting God do his trans formative work in them.

Photo: First Friday Adoration yesterday was a success for those that were able to schedule some time to enjoy the company of their Savior!

As for the title of my post, if you made it this far you probably want to know why I chose to write that title, when I clearly wrote about the appearance of the sanctuary in the church vs. the music and sounds of the church.  Well, I guess I am still holding out hope that someday my dad will make the short but painful trip from his heart to his head and make a decision to follow Jesus in more than just words, but in deeds too. I pray for my salvation too, and I would very much appreciate your prayers, as well…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

