May your mother intercede for us, Lord!

Standard

As I finished the morning prayer this morning in the church by myself, I remembered the story I heard on the radio about the woman who would go to the tabernacle and open it and ask what Jesus wanted her to do today.  I looked at the tabernacle and said, “So, Jesus, what do you want from me?”  I heard in my head, “Sit down!”  As I sat, I felt the peace of resting in the Lord’s presence.  Sitting in the front pew of the church by myself, I then heard the question, “Do you really believe that I am present here in the tabernacle?”  I answered immediately, “Of course, Lord!”  I started thinking, why else would I be here praying unless I believed Jesus was really here?  I was immediately rebuked by Our Lord when he said to my heart, “Then why are you not screaming at the top of your lungs about my presence here?”  I thought immediately about the conversation I had with my son’s best friend last night, talking about how being Catholic is about following the teachings of Jesus which the church has been doing for the last 2000 years.  I failed to mention that since we believe that Jesus is truly present in the Eucharist, and if he happens to decide to go to another church, he will not have that.  If I truly believe that Jesus is present in the form of bread and wine in the Eucharist, should I be screaming it from the rooftops?  He is waiting for you and me to go to work sharing this Good News, especially today as we celebrate the share that his mother had in his passion.  Our Lady of Sorrows, pray for us!

Leave a Reply

