“Lord, do you want us to call down fire from heaven to consume them?”

Standard

As I heard this scripture proclaimed on the audio section of the USCCB website this morning, after dropping off my oldest son at high school and bringing my youngest son to elementary school, I was going to tell him that we should not be judging the world but rather pray for it.  I didn’t share it with him, because he is 6 and I don’t think he is ready to hear it.  However, upon further reflection of this reading and after getting to work and sharing the Morning Prayer with a friend after our communion service in the chapel this morning, I knew that I needed to share this with you.

There was a song that I love on the Morning Prayer this morning that says, “Rise up, O men of God!”  I am using that as my instructions to share with you that God is telling us today that we should not be judging the world who is not accepting the Word of God, we should be praying for it.  Here is my version of a prayer that we can say to pray for the world…

Lord, all the powers of heaven wait for the conversion of the world. Please add my voice to the voices in heaven that are crying out for more souls to be added to those that will spend eternity with you.  It is for your glory that we were made and I would appreciate it if you make my life a sign that points to you and only you.  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me and on the whole world!

Leave a Reply

