When we eat this bread…

Standard

I was praying the rosary Wednesday morning, and I realized that when we eat the Body of Christ in the Eucharist, we are participating in the Resurrection of Jesus by allowing him to be incarnated again in us.  As I prayed the 1st glorious mystery, the realization that I could be the incarnation of God after consuming his Body and Blood was short lived, because I remembered that the fact that his presence only stays with us for about 10 minutes was explained to me through a homily I heard just yesterday.  Anyway, as I got into the Ascension of Jesus or the 2nd glorious mystery, I realized that if we were united to him through his resurrection, we were also united to him through the Ascension, and if only for a brief moment we can be taken up to heaven with Jesus through his power that has ascended to the Father.  Finally, it was the Descent of the Holy Spirit, or the 3rd glorious mystery that reminded me that because he has left us here on earth, even though our hearts are transported to heaven with him, he is sending the Holy Spirit to guide and direct us to the work that is left to do here on earth until Jesus comes the final time to earth.

advent.jpgI finished my night last night at the Newman Center, where I received the Body and Blood of Jesus in the Eucharist.  I remember feeling the presence of Jesus when I received him in the form of bread and wine, and I distinctly remember feeling the presence leaving me and having the conscious thought that now I need to live by the direction of the Holy Spirit, if I want to stay in communion with God.  Thanks be to God and all glory to him who has revealed these truths to me and to anyone who he wishes to share his truth with through me.

Come Lord Jesus!

Hail Mary, full of grace.  The Lord is with you.  Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb, Jesus.  Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death…Amen!

2 thoughts on “When we eat this bread…

  1. Hello friend.
    My name is Marvin Max and I am a recently baptized Roman Catholic from Leiden, the Netherlands.
    Since I have been taken up into the Church I have developed a deep appreciation for the sacraments and especially holy communion.
    As a way to share the grace received from our Lord, I am starting a catholic internet radio show.
    The Source and Summit podcast is an open podium for catholics to speak about their love for the Church.
    In this podcast you can not only listen to presentations from fellow catholics, you can also submit an item yourself.
    Would you like to share your deep love for the eucharist by contributing a piece to the podcast?
    You are welcome at http://www.sourceandsummit.cc for more information and to record your message.
    Thank you, Marvin Max.

    • Thanks Marvin,

      I often think as I am posting on my blog that there is some other form of media that would be more effective in delivering the good news, but in trying to set it up I have always found it to be a little too contrived and I feel like I am not being authentic because I am too concerned about how I come off vs. just delivering the message. God bless you in your endeavor and I just uploaded this blog on your podcast site and I can’t wait to hear great things from you and your podcast site in the future.

      Jason

Leave a Reply

