Rewriting the Psalms…Journal #3

Standard

Psalm 1 (in my own words)

Happy is the man who does not follow bad examples,011816_1756_CovenantFir1.png

nor do they live in opposition to God,

nor hang with people who convince you evil is good.

Instead, he finds eternal happiness in following God;

with the Word of God always in the front of his mind.

He is like a stronghold

placed in the best strategic position,

to take advantage of every good harvest when it comes;

The bricks are impenetrable,

the things he pursues, he gets.

But the bad examples are not eternally happy!

They are like tumbleweeds in the breeze.

So the bad examples will be judged accordingly,

along with the people who oppose God.

God leads the faithful people back to himself,

and the bad examples will be left to themselves.

AND

Psalm 23 (revised)

The Lord, Savior and Redeemer

A psalm of Jason.Fountain_of_Eternal_Life_crop

The Lord is my savior;

he always shows me his mercy.

In church he makes me kneel down;

to the water that flowed from his side;

he restores me through his body.

He advises me through his church

for the sake of his love.

Even though my flesh calls out to sin and death,

I do not fear the world or the devil, for Jesus is with me and loves me;

your chastisement and your authority make me feel at home.

You freed me from my sins,

while the unrepentant looks on;

You make me into your priest;

to show your mercy to others.

I will always be ready to receive your forgiveness

while I am on earth;

My savior’s church will be my home until the end comes.

Leave a Reply

