The truth is not proven by argument…

Standard

Googled, "Self control"

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  9 For since in the wisdom of God the world did not come to know God through wisdom, it was the will of God through the foolishness of the proclamation to save those who have faith.  (1 Corinthians 1:21)

Observation:  Two weeks ago, the youth in our Youth Ministry brought up the topic of Atheism.  They brought it up because there was a relative of one of the youth leaders that said he doesn’t need to believe in God.  I feel like the atheist won the argument, because the youth leader was not rooted in the faith.  Specifically, he mentioned that the Bible is nothing more than man made words in a book.  Of course, I went off about how all scripture is the inspired Word of God.  However, this morning I am hearing that it doesn’t matter how well we argue this point, it is the grace of God that leads people to their faith, not how well my argument stands up.

Personification:  Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  I am still working on being able to display this fruit in my life.  It seems that no matter what good intentions I have for completing certain tasks in a timely manner, something always comes up.  However, it is not the fault of timing, rather my preparedness to deal with the time that is given to me.  (See Gospel reading for today in today’s Mass readings…)

Prayer:  Lord, help me to use my time more wisely and be able to get more done today in less time.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.