Remaining in him…

Standard
Baptism of Christ. Jesus is baptized in the Jo...
Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  4 This is how we know that we remain in him and he in us, that he has given us of his Spirit.  (1 John 4:13)

Observation:  It is not only in our acknowledgement of Jesus Christ as our Lord and savior, but also in the understanding of the fact that we are one with his Spirit.  This has happened because of the gift God gave us in his Son who died for us, not for anything that we did to deserve it.  As the previous verse to this one says, love is brought to perfection by our loving each other, not because of anything they did to deserve it, rather just because they are…

Personification:  Gentleness  It would have been too easy to focus on the fruit of love again today, so I chose to focus on the fruit of gentleness.  This fruit will be displayed by a genuine concern for the other people who I come in contact with today, regardless of my own inhibitions or fears that are still part of my personality, because I have not yet completely let go of my will.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to surrender more fully to your will for me in this life, so I can more easily display the gentleness and patience that you show me every day.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.