Gift: Wisdom

Standard

 

Pope Benedict XVI stands next to “The Staff of Moses” during his visit to Mount Nebo.

Reading:  Moses accordingly made a bronze serpant and mounted it on a pole, and whenver anyone looked at the bronze serpant, he recovered.  (Numbers 21:9)

&

And just a Moses lifted up the serpant in the desert, so must the Son of Man be lifted up.  (John 3:14)

Observation:  This morning, I think I have a better understanding as to why Catholics venerate the cross.  Specifically, certain ethnic groups with the church I have seen in a state of exaltation toward the crucifix in the middle of Mass.

Personification:  Patience (Latin: longanimitas)  Sometimes, I am not going to get the answer to a question right off the bat from God.  With this morning’s gift of wisdom, I know that God will answer every question I may have, but He will do it in his own time.  It is my hope that He will continue to give me all the grace to be patient and wait on Him.

Prayer:  Lord, it is my sincere hope that it is your will that the wisdom that comes from your Word be passed through me to anyone who may be listening when I speak your Word or reading the Word that I am posting.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.