Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Standard

 

Readings: Is it time for you to dwell in your own paneled houses, while this house lies in ruins? (Haggai 1:4)

&

Let the faithful rejoice in their glory, cry out for joy at their banquet,  (Psalm 149:5)

&

But Herod said, “John I beheaded. Who then is this about whom I hear such things?” And he kept trying to see him.  (Luke 9:9)

Observation: I read the readings this morning from home before leaving to take my son to school and then made my way to Mass at our small chapel today with Reverend Roy Antunez saying the Mass.  Of course, as the Holy Spirit would have it, he asked if anyone remembered what the first reading was about and I responded immediately that it was about the building up of the house of the Lord.  He remarked that the focus of this reading was in that the Jewish people were building up their own houses and neglecting the Lord’s house.  In the responsorial psalm today, it reads:  “let them sing for joy upon their couches;” and the translation of that is what is written in the text above from the New American Bible.  I am hearing that we should not only be building up the house of the Lord, but praising God and worshipping him at every banquet that we have.  Finally, the verse from the Gospel today, Father Roy did not say this, but I believe if given the chance to respond to my reflection on this verse, he would agree that I sometimes see myself as Herod.  I am searching for a miracle that Jesus is going to do for me or proof to show me that He is truly the Son of God, rather than accepting that I know what He has already done in my life and trusting wholeheartedly that He will complete the work that He has begun in my life.

Personification: Faithfulness (Latin: fides)

It is my hope that I can be more faithful to God and follow the example of Jesus’ life on earth.  The fruit of faithfulness that I want to display today and the rest of my life is based on the fact that without Him, I would not only not be able to have hope, but I would not have life.  The joyful life that I am being called to live is the eternal life that has only the fear of the Lord to be truly afraid of, and nothing else should stand in my way of expressing joy and love to every one that I meet.

Prayer: Lord, help me to  be more faithful to your Word and your truth that I know will not only set me free but allow me to live out the life you are calling me to more abundantly.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.