We have been brought very low…

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  Do not hold past iniquities against us; may your compassion come quickly, for we have been brought very low.  (Psalm 79:8)

Observation:  As I read the first reading and the Gospel this morning, I was searching for something that was speaking to me.  However, when I went back to read the first reading again, I realized that the Responsorial Psalm was jumping off the screen with the words from the response, “Do not deal with us accorning to our sins.” It is funny how often we can be searching for something that God is trying to tell us and it is right in front of us the whole time.  The 8th verse of the 79th Psalm is saying to me today that as a church we have been humbled by our past sins, but we can be sure that God is merciful and will not deal with us according to our past sins.

Personification:  Modesty  I am going to try to display the fruit of modesty today in order to show that, as a member of the staff at Saint Alice Parish, I understand that there is some healing that needs to happen with many in the church that feel that the church did not protect them in the past.  I will continue to give all the glory to God and ask God for continued healing of all the members of his church, so that we can worship him together for as long as he wants to keep us here.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to act with modesty in all the things I do today and do not let me lose sight of the work that you would have me do in your name today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.