The second reading from the letter of Saint Paul to the Phillipians…

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:   Who, 3 though he was in the form of God, did not regard equality with God something to be grasped. 4 Rather, he emptied himself, taking the form of a slave, coming in human likeness; 5 and found human in appearance, he humbled himself, becoming obedient to death, even death on a cross. 6 Because of this, God greatly exalted him and bestowed on him the name 7 that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bend, 8 of those in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, 9 to the glory of God the Father.  (Phillipians 2:6-11)

Observation:  It is my opinion that the song from Mercy Me that I found on You Tube this morning is the perfect explanation of this reading today from the letter of Paul to the Phillipians.  Even though, I journeyed with some young people last night to a Christian Music Concert called, the Rock and Worship Roadshow, I liked this video that was created two years ago better than the one I took from behind the stage.  This reading is also the perfect compliment to my last journal entry about the fact that Jesus said that because we have accepted the Word of God is written to us, we are gods.  This reading points out that Jesus was truly God, but spent his time emptying himself for us and not exalting himself and that is what ultimately will allow God to grace us, when we empty ourselves and love each other more fully.

Application:  Love (Charity)  Once again, this morning I am feeling the call to ask for the grace necessary to show the fruit of love and charity to everyone that I meet today.  I realize that my heart must be open at all times in order to be quick to respond to the needs of others as the opportunity presents itself.

Prayer:  Lord, you have given me the perfect example of your love for me by dying on the cross for my sins.  Please help me to use this example to pour my heart out for others that need to feel your love for them by whatever you have given me the grace to give.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.