Superstition or Faith? Which one do I show my belief in?

Standard

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage)

Reading:  Both Paul and Barnabas spoke out boldly and said, “It was necessary that the word of God be spoken to you first, but since you reject it and condemn yourselves as unworthy of eternal life, we now turn to the Gentiles. 12 For so the Lord has commanded us, ‘I have made you a light to the Gentiles, that you may be an instrument of salvation to the ends of the earth.'” 

The disciples were filled with joy and the holy Spirit.  (Acts 13:46-47,52)

&

If you ask anything of me in my name, I will do it.  (John 14:14)

Observation:  This morning, I am thinking about how amazing it is to be filled with joy and the holy Spirit.  To know, without a shadow of a doubt that your creator wants nothing but the best for you.  I need only ask for anything in his name and he will do it.  Ok, here the deal, I know that there are times that I believe that if I don’t shave my team will win the game, that’s superstition.  I also know that I really don’t believe that, but I pretend like I do.  I think I let my doubts about the ridiculous superstitions creep into my faith.  I truly know that God sent his Son to save us from our sins, and to bring down the kingdom of Heaven on earth.  Still, I don’t call on him at all times because I don’t want to be seen as ridiculously superstitious.  Truth is, faith is not superstition, it is a sincere belief in a real God.

Personification:  Faith/Fidelity – The ability to stick to our work and to stay firm in our commitment to God and to God’s people with whom we are connected.  I am hearing a call today to display the fruit of faith and fidelity to the Word of God.  My work is my life and my calling is to be a real disciple of Jesus Christ, so it is about time that I started acting like I believe it again.  The ability to act in faith means that I can be confident that calling on the name of Jesus to get me through the tough times will work, not superstition, super fact.  He has gotten me this far, He will see his good work that he began in me to completion.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, lead me in your ways and help me to make all of my decisions today to glorify your name and help others have real confidence in asking for what they need in your name.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.