Sing for joy on your couches…

Standard

If you google, “cry out for joy” you get this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMJ82Nzdh6I

The link here to homilies of Saint Jerome is a better alternative to worship of Michael Jackson…Click here

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading:  3Let the faithful exult in glory;

let them sing for joy upon their couches(Psalm 149:5)

Observation:  The church has given us the translation of this verse from the 149th Psalm to say banquet in the NAB translation that we can read in numerous different versions of the catholic Bible.  However, the church, in its wisdom, has chosen to use the literal translation of this verse in the Responsorial Psalm today.  I am sure there are plenty of reasons why this would happen, but I would like to offer a possible reason, although it is most likely not the real reason they chose to use it.  When I read it this morning, I thought about the countless hours that we sit on our couches and do anything but exult in glory.  If you look at most of what is on TV today, it moves you toward a feeling of hopelessness, not joy. 

Personification:  Joy – The ability to celebrate life even in the midst of pain and confusion.  It is my hope that there would be more programming on television that allows us to sing for joy to the Lord.  Whenever the local stations choose to play Christian music videos, I absolutely love watching T.V., and any other time it is just a mind numbing experience for the most part.  I will search out programming on TV from now on that allows me to sing with joy to the Lord, or turn on the radio to a Christian music station or just read quietly.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to direct my thoughts at all times to singing with joy to you.  Please allow me to find better ways to spend me time with you and other faithful people of God.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.