I guess if we saw Paul and Silas singing songs of praise, we would understand the signs?

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  About midnight, while Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God as the prisoners listened, there was suddenly such a severe earthquake that the foundations of the jail shook; all the doors flew open, and the chains of all were pulled loose.  (Acts 16:25-26)

Observation:  If we look at recent events around the world, we should be able to see what Jesus was saying would come to pass just before he returns.  However, most people are not seeing the church singing praises to God like Paul and Silas were at the time the earth shook to free them from prison.  With all that is happening in this world today, I am definitely looking forward to a time real soon when Jesus will return to shake us free from our prison of this flesh to spend eternity praising him. 

Personification:  Goodness – A real desire to live a holy life, to set a good example by our conduct where we are.  I love in the definition of this fruit of the spirit.  It says a real desire to live a holy life, to set a good example by our conduct where we are, because I am a worthless sinner and far be it from me to try and set an example for anyone, unless they are where I am.  However, I will pray for the grace that comes from the Father to allow me to continue to be the best example of a holy life to everyone that I come in contact with today and for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Lord, allow me to set an example of a holy life that is full of joy and your goodness that comes as a free gift from your grace.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.