Former ignorance, not present sinfulness…

Standard

Gift:  Understanding

Reading:  Like obedient children, do not act in compliance with the desires of your former ignorance 8 but, as he who called you is holy, be holy yourselves in every aspect of your conduct, for it is written, “Be holy because I (am) holy.”   (1 Peter 1:14-16)

Observation:  I am reading this first reading in the light of the truth for the first time this morning.  Peter is explaining that our conduct should not be driven by our former lack of knowledge of God.  Now that we know God, our conduct should be driven by our yearning to be holy.  I still fail, but it is no longer due to the fact that I don’t know any better.  It is due to the fact that I am a sinful creature, who was created to be holy.  I still fall short of that holiness whenever I focus on something other than the one that is the epitome of holiness, Jesus Christ.

Personification:  Goodness – A real desire to live a holy life, to set a good example by our conduct where we are.  I know I say this almost every time I focus on displaying the fruit of goodness, but it is especially relevant this morning in light of the verses from the first reading that I chose to journal on.  I cannot set a good example, nor lead a holy life, without the grace of God.  Even then, I am nothing but a worthless sinner who deserves punishment, not redemption.  However, it is my sincere hope that God will continue to give me the grace that I do not deserve, so that I can try every day to be a better example of what a holy life looks like to my family, friends and to this world that exists until Jesus returns.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on you and not my own will, so that I can conduct myself in your holy way and not my sinful way.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.