(Mark 16:15) Go out to all the world and tell the Good News.

Standard

Googled, "not seen and have believed"

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  Brothers and sisters:
You are no longer strangers and sojourners,
but you are fellow citizens with the holy ones
and members of the household of God,
built upon the foundation of the Apostles and prophets,
with Christ Jesus himself as the capstone.
Through him the whole structure is held together
and grows into a temple sacred in the Lord;
in him you also are being built together
into a dwelling place of God in the Spirit.  (Eph 2:19-22)

&

18 Jesus said to him, “Have you come to believe because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and have believed.”  (John 20:29)

Observation:  Today, I was overcome by the reality of what being a disciple of Jesus Christ means after reading the first reading.  The title of today’s post comes from the responsorial Psalm for today’s Mass readings.  Again, an admonition to me and to everyone who would call themself a believer in the the Lord Jesus Christ to be about the work of telling the Good News to the whole world.  Not just Pastors and Ministers, but everyone is called to be about the work of telling the Good News.  When we do this, I believe we will be the recipients of the blessing that concludes the Gospel reading for today.

Personification:  Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  It seems that I choose to focus on this fruit a lot.  It is because I have to remember to stay vigilant against the evil forces of this world that would have me abandon the activities that will bear fruit in favor of those things that would be more selfish.  I mean everything that I do could be deemed selfish, I just hope it is the self that has abandoned itself in favor of following the will of the Father, with the grace and help of the holy Spirit. 

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God have mercy on me a sinner…Amen