There is freedom in obedience to the Word…

Standard

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  Jesus said:  “Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”  (Matthew 11:28-30)

Observation:  As I stated in the title of my post today, I believe Jesus is saying in the Gospel reading for today’s Mass that we can be set free from our struggles in life if we will stay true to his Word.  It is hard work trying to be faithful to God at all times, but God’s Word is teaching me how to do it with more ease.

Personification:  Modesty – No longer needing to impress other people with our power or degrees or connections or wealth.  This is definitely a fruit of the Spirit that I need help from the grace that comes from the sacraments to achieve.  I have never done modesty very well, and I hope that the humbling that has been happening to me lately is enough to keep me humble and behaving the way God expects me to.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay humble and meek like you and keep me from acting out of pride for what I have done and help me to see that nothing good happens in my life without you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.