Be the one to hear the Word and understand it…

Standard
Picture from our trip to the border of Mexico this morning...

Picture from our trip to the border of Mexico this morning...

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  But the seed sown on rich soil is the one who hears the word and understands it, who indeed bears fruit and yields a hundred or sixty or thirtyfold.”  (Matthew 13:23)

Observation:  It may sound simplistic to say that we should hear the Word and understand it, but I feel like today especially God is saying that we need to be ready to accept the Word of God when we hear it and apply it for the rest of our lives.  Once the seed of the Word of God is sewn in our hearts, we should work tirelessly to make sure we are living in the moment with the Word of God surrounding us at all times.

Personification:  Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  It is my hope that the young people and myself realize that the gift of the holy Spirit comes to us whenever we put ourselves in the presence of the Eucharist.  It is my will that the Father continues to reveal to me the truth through the Word.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to use your words to live out the rest of my life and allow your words to guide my speech to everyone that I meet today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.