Do not forget the poor, O Lord!

Standard

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  For the wicked man glories in his greed,
and the covetous blasphemes, sets the LORD at nought.
The wicked man boasts, “He will not avenge it”;
“There is no God,” sums up his thoughts.  Psalm 10:3-4)

Observation:  I took the reading from the second part of the Responsorial Psalm for today’s Mass readings.  The translation that is used in the Mass readings today has special meaning to me.  Someone wrote these words on the back of our church sometime in the last week and signed my name to it.  I believe I am writing about it as a reminder that not only in the times of the Old Testament, but even today there are evil forces at work to try and stop the Word of God from spreading.  I will take a picture of the graffiti when I ride my bike to the church later, before I clean it off, to see if it isn’t the exact words that you read in the Psalm for today’s readings.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness) – An inner strength that permits us to be aware of our own abilities without having to make a show of them.  I am thinking that if it was me that motivated this graffiti artist to write this on the back of our church, that I am truly humbled by the fact that evil has sought me out to try and discredit me, and I hope that God protects me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me stay true to your Word and rely on you alone to accomplish every good thing in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a comment